Grilled Zucchini Nachos

I know it’s been a while, but I’m trying to step my game back up. I’m about to start slinging blog posts left and right! Since having my little man in January, I’ve made drastic changes in my diet. I was (and still am) bound and determined to look and feel better than before I ever got pregnant and all my hard work and craziness is finally paying off. I’ve gotten into a gym routine that I love and I’ve found a diet (lifestyle change actually – read more about that here) that is so manageable and easy to stick to. Basically any of our favorite foods out there can be cleaned up a little bit and be perfectly acceptable to eat! Nachos are (or have been) a favorite in my household, but I have pretty much stopped making them because I hadn’t been able to find any substitute for chips that I found acceptable. (I know there are plenty of clean chip substitutes out there, I just prefer fresh veggeies if possible). Then today, it dawned on me. A very generous lady at work always brings in fresh veggies from her garden and this week she brought in these HUGE zucchini. And when I say huge, I mean like, so big you could use it as a weapon to hurt someone. “Stop right there! I’ll beat your ass with this giant zuccchini!”

20140702-134504-49504478.jpg

Anyways, here we have it…. Zucchini Nachos!!

20140702-132057-48057836.jpg

These were just the ingredients I used because they were on hand, use anything you’d like! (I wish I would have had shredded chicken!)

Ingredients:
1 LARGE Zucchini
1 Tomato
1/2 Avocado
Green Onions
Lime Juice
Black Beans
Olive Oil
Garlic Powder
Ground Black Pepper

*Brush olive oil on both sides of sliced zucchini and throw it on the griddle (grill or grill pan work too!)
*Shake some garlic powder and black pepper on both sides.
*Grill until browned on both sides.
*Cut up your veggies and throw ’em on top when your zucchini is done cooking.
*I don’t eat cheese, but my sister is little miss picky and doesn’t eat avocados so she was getting her healthy fats from cheese for lunch!

Leave a Reply

