Bode is 3 months!

20140413-145331.jpg

My little man isn’t a newborn anymore! OMG! Bode was 3 months old almost 2 weeks ago, I have been realllllly off my blogging game lately. Life has gotten in the way. However, our lives couldn’t be any happier thanks to our little bundle of happiness. Seriously. Maybe I haven’t been around too many babies, but he is the happiest baby I’ve ever seen. Now I’m not saying he doesn’t have his moments or fussy days, but he is so smiley all the time! Talk about melting a momma’s heart.

Unfortunately, I had to stop nursing around 2.5 months or so. We started supplementing with this formula at about 2 months because he was just inconsolable between feedings. Of course, nearly everything you read online or hear from a lactation consultant about increasing your milk supply says nurse baby when baby is hungry. Well, how is a working mom supposed to nurse their baby every 1.5-2 hours when he decides he’s hungry? So we started supplementing every other feeding. It got to the point where I was only pumping about 2 ounces every 2-3 hours and this just couldn’t cut it for our growing boy. It was taking me 2 and 3 pumping sessions during the day to make enough to feed him once. It was stressing me out which I’m sure played a role in my milk supply. When I did stop nursing altogether at 2.5ish months, I had a big enough stockpile in the freezer that we ran out actually just yesterday. It took a few days or weeks to quit beating myself up and telling myself that I’m not a bad mom for only giving my baby breast milk for only 3 months. He is MUCH happier being fed around 6 ounces every feeding now and he loves this formula and it agrees with his belly really well. He is also sleeping through the night! Can I get a HALLELUJAH!

Bode got a bit of a cold right around his 3 month mark, coughing and sneezing a lot, and being the paranoid psycho that I am, I sat on the floor watching him breathe for hours one night. I took him to see his pediatrician the next day and it was nothing major. Just a cold! We were just putting baby vicks on his chest and little feet at night and putting saline drops in his nose and sucking it back out. Like seriously, he screams, SCREAMS BLOODY MURDER, harder when he gets his nose sucked out than he did after getting his shots. Which, by the way, was much harder for me and my mom than it was for Bode. He screamed for about 10 seconds and then literally was just fine. Me, on the other hand, not so much. I have to muster myself back up though, we have another round of shots in less than a month. Shiiiiiiiiiiit.

Other than shots and a cold, things are going great! I will stand by my comment that my Great Dane is more high maintenance than my infant. We have really lucked out with this little guy, not only is he extremely handsome, but he’s so easy! Also, I’m going to make an effort to get back to blogging more regularly. I miss it!

20140413-145353.jpg

20140413-145406.jpg

20140413-145416.jpg

20140413-145440.jpg

20140413-145519.jpg

20140413-145540.jpg

2 thoughts on “Bode is 3 months!

  1. mrswifeyduley says:

    I was just stalking your blog..and just an fyi.. some how when I got my belly band at motherhood they signed me up for formula coupons from enfamil. they send like 4 or 5 $5 off any type every month..

Leave a Reply

