Bode & Breastfeeding

I thought when I was no longer pregnant, I was going to have my body back to myself. Oh man how wrong I was. Breastfeeding is a full-time job, but it is so rewarding. Of course at 2,3,4 in the morning I’m wishing we could just give him a bottle, but in do time we will. Jacob is the BIGGEST help and gets up to change his diaper before every feeding so I’m not all alone in the middle of the night. Since the day he was born, our pediatrician told us he needed to eat every 3 hours so we have stuck to that plan to the T.

The first week he was here was pretty rough getting him to wake up and eat (which was mostly due to him being jaundice — he was the sleepiest boy). He was born early on a Friday morning and my milk came in on Sunday evening. My boobs were seriously the size of basketballs. It was actually humorous. He only wanted to latch onto my right boob for the first 3-5 days too which resulted in the sorest nipple EVER. Like holy crap, nothing can prepare you for mutilation your nipples go through.

By the time he was one week old, we had to go back to the pediatrician for his 3rd weight check since he lost about 13 ounces in 5 days. At the one week marker, his weight was going back up and we didn’t have to go do anymore bilirubin blood tests so that was the best news. He eats like a typical boy at this point, usually draining a boob at each feeding. I still have to pump a lot though because my boobs get SO full. Our freezer door is already stocked full and he’s only 2.5 weeks old. It’s good that I’m getting a good stockpile of breast milk, but we’re probably going to have to buy a deep freeze due to having no space to store it!

I’m very lucky that Bode is latching on to both sides and eating so well now. Knock on wood, but he has been such an easy baby. He only gets fussy when he’s hungry, but since we keep him on the 3 hour schedule he rarely has the opportunity to get too mad. He’s still pretty little at this point and only has a few outfits that fit him. Most of the newborn stuff is still too big! I’m hopeful that he’s up past his birth weight at his doctors appointment this week.

Him’s a pretty happy boy! We are so lucky to have him.

20140127-131301.jpg

20140127-131323.jpg

20140127-131358.jpg

3 thoughts on “Bode & Breastfeeding

  1. Valerie says:

    Breastfeeding is much crazier than it’s made out to be in those first several weeks! πŸ˜‰ You’re doing an awesome job. And I LOVE his wrinkly forehead, oh my word! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

