Baby Bump — 38 weeks!

20140108-081300.jpg

Due Date: January 22nd. 14 more days!!!!!!!
How Far Along: 38 Weeks
Baby Development/Movement: Welp, we’re still here. He’s warm and snug in there and I think I’ve came to terms with the fact that he probably isn’t going to make an early appearance. Now of course, I know anything is possible and we could progress at any time, but… I’m trying to quit psyching myself out for no reason. At my 38 week appointment yesterday, I had no more progress from last week. Still dilated to a 1 and 90% effaced. It’s disheartening, I’m so ready to not be pregnant anymore and I’m even more ready to meet our little baby boy. I’ve been 100% against being induced up until this point, but my doctor has offered to induce me at any point after my due date. The 100 pounds of bricks sitting on my back and sharp contractions I’m getting have convinced me to take an induction if I make it past my due date. To each their own, but I’m really disappointed in myself for giving in to induction. I am so mentally and physically exhausted at this point that we think it’s the best choice for our family at this point. My doctor and nurses have reassured me that once he meets his due date, it’s perfectly safe and fine so I hope we are making the right decision. Send up a prayer to whoever you pray to, or send us some positive vibes, that he will decide to come on his own though. In regards to his movements, I was getting a little worried yesterday because he wasn’t kicking and moving in the morning as much as he usually does. My doctor said he’s probably on his waking and sleeping cycles by now which is reassuring, but also makes me worry a little because he’s his most active at night while I’m (trying) to sleep. Oh boy. I picked up Baby Wise yesterday which has come highly recommended by many moms including my OB so hopefully we have luck getting Bode on some sort of schedule after a few weeks. His head is so low now that I feel like I’m doing very intense, daily inner thigh workouts. I can say without a doubt that I have not been doing that. Also, most his movements are accompanied by sending shooting extremely sharp pains either up my crotch or up my butt. So you can imagine I’m ready to evacuate this child from my body.
Diet & Exercise: The exercise is still almost non-existent with the exception of walking on our treadmill once or twice a week. My diet is pretty good for the most part though. I haven’t gained any weight in the past 2 weeks so that’s good since I about unraveled at the seams when I saw what I weighed 2 weeks ago. I’ve gained a total of 34 pounds. I’m going to try and only gain another 2-4 pounds. I can live with that. I GUESS.
Stretch Marks: Yeah, I’ve got a few on my left hip now. My body is ruined. Just kidding. (My body was ruined when I got those stupid ass tattoos on my back — which I’ve found a tattoo removal place in Joplin and will be getting them removed immediately once my body shrinks back to normal size. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to realize how much I hate them). It is pretty depressing though since I’ve tried so hard to avoid them. I just try to remind myself they will fade to flesh color after a while and it’s not the end of the world. Get over it.
Week’s Best: Getting to hear Bode’s “healthy and happy heartbeat” as my OB described it always makes me so happy. I get so worried about how he’s doing in there so it’s always very reassuring when we get to hear he’s still doing fine. I cannot wait to hold him!
Week’s Worst: The no new progress thing is kind of a knife in the heart.

Leave a Reply

