Baby Bump – 36 Weeks!

20131226-065150.jpg
36 Weeks and 2 days technically… But who’s counting?

How Far Along: 36 weeks! 27 days to go…
Baby Development/Movement: He’s just getting bigger and bigger at this point. His lungs and internal systems should all be fully development and he most likely wouldn’t need a NICU stay if he was born after this point. If I had him at the point of pregnancy that my mom had me, I’d be having a baby in a day or two. And not a little baby. I weighed 8 pounds 6 ounces and was 3.5 weeks early! Yikes. We have an ultrasound at my doctors appointment tomorrow so we will see just how much he weighs (give or take a pound – they say these growth scans aren’t spot on). I’m getting extremely scared that he is going to be very large and that I will have to have a c-section. I just personally really want to experience the labor and delivery process. He’s still moving and kicking like crazy. If his kicks are any indication of how his behavior is going to be…… Shit. At least once a day out of nowhere I will get a huge kick to my right love-handle area. I’m just so ready to see those little legs kicking in real life! The anxiety of not knowing when he is going to be here is exhausting.
Diet/Exercise: Well my diet has definitely gotten off course with Christmas this week. I’ve diverged from the path and had more sweets than I would like to admit… But that’s all over now. No more. Huge bummer.
Stretch Marks: I’ve had a few pop up on my left hip. It really is the saddest thing. I’ve tried so, so, so, so hard to keep from getting any. I know it’s really inevitable and partially genetics, but damn it. I was really praying I wouldn’t get any. Oh well I guess.
Week’s Best: Christmas was yesterday and we spent the last two days with our families so that’s definitely been the highlight of the week. We weren’t in need of anything so our cup does truly runneth over this Christmas. We have the best families.. I hate to brag, but they’re both awesome. So many people don’t get along with their in-laws, but I’ve hit gold with mine. Kooper stayed with us on Christmas Eve, so he got to open his presents from Santa at our house yesterday morning and that was awesome. I have him on video freaking out that Santa brought him TWO REMOTE CONTROL HELICOPTERS OH MY GOD! I am going to put up a bunch of pictures up from Christmas so I’ll save it. Baby Bode also go hooked up this Christmas.
Week’s Worst: My level of comfort literally drops by the hour. My poor back and tailbone are goners.
Pregnancy Struggles: Distinguishing between real contractions and Braxton Hicks contractions.
Braxton Hicks Contractions. Not really painful, just extremely uncomfortable. My whole belly gets hard as a rock and I feel like a 10 pound bag of sugar in a 5 pound sack. I came to this conclusion yesterday… These things are so uncomfortable. It feels like when you’re having a real fat day (week, month, whatever, I’m not judging) and your jeans are just too damn tight, but you still pour yourself into them anyways. Then you walk around all day wearing these jeans that are way too tight and way too uncomfortable. Anyone else know that feeling? Just me? Alrighty then…. Well, that’s what Braxton Hicks contractions feel like. Also, just a tease and annoying.
Real Contractions. Now I haven’t gone through labor or anything yet, but I’ve had a few different episodes of getting to experience the real thing. Now obviously when I say the real thing, these are extremely mild contractions compared to labor contractions (or so I would think). These feel like a combination of terrible PMS cramps and excruciating gas pains that make your stomach hard from top to bottom, side to side, and make your back hurt equally as bad. Now this is just my interpretation, I’m sure every woman who has given birth has a much different story of their experience. I’m giving everyone a forewarning now: I will share details after I give birth so you may want to watch yourselves if you get embarrassed easily. Because… I do not.

Leave a Reply

