Baby Bump – 27 Weeks!

20131023-073659.jpgOne more week and I’ll be in my third trimester! Almost to the homestretch!


Age: 22
How Far Along: 27 weeks! 13 weeks to go…. 91 days to be exact. Not that I’m counting.
Baby Development & Movement: By now, Bode is around 2 pounds and 13 to 15 inches long. I’m so ready for an ultrasound so we can see just exactly how big he is! They say this is the earliest a premature baby could survive outside the womb, so that is extremely reassuring if he decided to come way too early. This is because his brainstem is almost fully developed which controls pretty much every major function for a human to exist; heart rate, breathing, blood pressure, all the other sensory areas of your brain that allow you to function daily (go me for knowing what and where the brainstem and cerebral cortex are — psychology minor, you weren’t a complete waste of space in my brain). His appendages are all stretching and grasping stronger by the day, which is why it feels like he’s gone all Elton John and is slamming on a piano in my gut. Supposedly, he is sleeping at regular intervals too. Which is, um, never.
Diet & Exercise: See week 10-26. I just cannot get my ass in gear when it comes to working out. I’m just trying to convince myself it’s because I actually like a hard workout so walking on the treadmill bores me to tears. Yeah… that’s the reason I’m not working out. I did take Beau on a walk around the neighborhood yesterday so that counts for something. I’m still eating well though, so get off my back.
Belly Button: It’s still barely an inny.
Weeks Best: The nursery is coming along slowly, but surely. We got it painted, now we just have to finish with the details. Pictures will up of that project as soon as it’s over. I’m so excited, I’m praying it turns out the way I want it to.
Weeks Worst: I don’t know if it’s pregnancy or just the weather shifting to cold, but I’ve felt kind of crumby all week. Really after I eat lunch, which is never big, I come back to work and feel like crap. Just kind of sickly and lightheaded, but it usually passes after an hour or so. Also, I know I’ve commented on how our dog, Beau, is going to be harder than the baby. I am believing this more and more everyday. He’s around 14 months old now and he is continually becoming more high maintenance. He wakes me up in the middle of every night and I can usually tell him to get back in his bed and he will. Not last night though. Last night, he woke me up every hour starting at the midnight hour. He got back in bed each time until about 4:15. He just stood on my side of the bed with his big, wet, annoying face right in my face for like 20 minutes. A window in our room was open so my sister could probably hear us screaming at him from the other end of the street. I finally just got up and let him out and I was so pissed about it. Filthy animals. End of rant.

2 thoughts on “Baby Bump – 27 Weeks!

  1. Susan and Jacqueline says:

    Yay! Bring on the third trimester! That’s when baby’s ears and brain are so well developed that s/he can hear, distinguish, and remember your and Daddy’s speech sounds. This is the time to start reading aloud! Please check out our blog for lots of info and book recommendations.

Leave a Reply

